Overall Rating  3.88 / 5

8 Customer Comments & Reviews Submit your rating

Mayflower is federally licensed to provide long-distance moving services to both businesses and residents.

Conrad M. Gentry and Don F. Kenworthy founded Mayflower Transit Co. in Indianapolis, Ind., in 1927 as an alternative to railroads for customers who were interested in moving their belongings across the country on the expanding network of paved roads. After more than two decades serving American families, Mayflower expanded its services to include company employee relocations as well as moving tradeshow displays and exhibits.

Mayflower offers a wide-array of moving services just for you and your unique needs. Mayflower have a network of nearly 300 agents spans the entire country; which means you’ll receive the same high-quality service, no matter your destination.

Licenses: U.S. DOT No. 125563 – TxDMV No. 36711

Mayflower Review

About Rick Doney

Rick Doney is a co-founder of Consumer Authority and Lifetime Entrepreneur. Expert on real estate, home improvement and other topics.

Would you like to share your experience? Write a review!

3.9
Mayflower Reviews / 8 Reviews
Submit your rating

Leave a Review

captcha-input
Overall Rating:
Publishing ...
Your rating has been successfully sent
Please fill out all fields
Captcha check failed
Serena H., Montverde, FL January 13, 2019 7:13 pm
Overall Rating:
Pickup and Delivery
Customer Service
Communication
Movers

My family & I picked this company to move us cross country from San Francisco, CA to Florida.

From the start, they were incredible with us and extremely professional. Michael Linares came to our S.F. house to meet us & survey our furniture, in order to give us an estimate. When we decided to go with them, he then connected us with Jennifer Johnson Coordinator Chipman Relocation & Logistics Agent for United Van Lines & Mayflower Transit.
Jennifer has been involved with us from day one and has been extremely involved & dedicated.
She guided us step by step, all the way. She informed us exactly when the movers would be arriving to our house in S.F. & to our property in FL.
We were very satisfied and impressed on how professional, quick & hard working the crew was that picked up all of our furniture.
And the same for the crew that delivered and unpacked the truck in our home in FL.
They delivered our furniture faster than what we expected and were so quick, professional and super nice with all of us and our items.

They were on target with how much it would cost, how long it would take to be delivered and all the items came in without a scratch or missing. Not to mention how in both places the weather was not the best! It was raining hard all day & they did everything possible to protect the house inside. They did not brake anything nor damaged the house, etc.

We highly recommend this company.

If we ever have to move one more time, we would not hesitate to choose them again!

~Serena & Jaime

Samantha I., New York, NY December 22, 2018 7:04 pm
Overall Rating:
Pickup and Delivery
Customer Service
Communication
Movers

I used Molloy Bros/Mayflower to move from NYC to Denver in November. They gave me a 10 day delivery window and I started my Denver lease on the first date of that window to be sure I was set up. I then flew to Denver from NYC specifically to meet the truck. AFTER I arrived here, ONE DAY before my delivery window, I was informed that my delivery had been DELAYED for TWO MORE WEEKS. Thus costing me money in rent for an empty apartment and a roundtrip flight to Denver for no reason (another 2K on top of the moving costs). My shipment had not even left NYC and it had been 3 weeks since they picked it up.

Local Molloy Bros said there was nothing they could do so instructed me to call Mayflower customer service. Customer service said I did not qualify for automatic reimbursement because my move did not meet the weight requirement so they offered to send me an air bed and gave me $200 of “goodwill.” My move was $4000, add onto that another $2000 spent to meet my delivery which did not come. For that money I expect them to uphold their end of the contract and also to respect their single family customers that use their company. I have never experienced such horrible service.

I paid for what I thought was a reputable company and would NEVER recommend using them. They break contract and do not care. They broker trucks/driver/etc so they have ZERO control over your belongings. I also had things stolen from my boxes (mugs, costume jewelry) and these were boxes I packed myself. HORRIBLE company.

Matt, Denver, CO October 1, 2018 7:10 pm
Overall Rating:
Pickup and Delivery
Customer Service
Communication
Movers

At first I felt comfortable with the company but once my stuff was in their hands it snowballed into a terrible experience. I still don’t know what company actually moved my things from NYC to Colorado, but they couldn’t even tell me where my moving truck was during the process. I received false confirmation about a company receiving my shipment in Denver just to be told 2 hours later that it was actually not there and I would have to wait extra days. All in, it took 24 days to receive my things, 14 of which was them just sitting in a warehouse in NY. When I did the boxes were ripped in half with items falling out of them, furniture broken, etc. Two of my boxes were actually forgotten and ended up being sent via Fedex to my apartment. For whatever reason, a third-party company unloaded my stuff off the truck. They right away said that the shipping container Mayflower sent over was packed improperly and it was some of the worst damage they had seen. I really regret not finding a better moving company – this was an unbelievably stressful and uncertain experience that I wouldn’t recommend.

Randy D. August 8, 2018 7:07 pm
Overall Rating:
Pickup and Delivery
Customer Service
Communication
Movers

I called Mayflower because another company had flaked on me and these guys did everything they said they was going to do actually it got there two days before and they did call 24 Hour because I was not there my son was although I didn’t look at it the boxes to see if anything was damaged it seemed like everything was in very good condition they put everything together and left very prompt I’m glad I had Mayflower move me thank you again I really appreciate it will check my boxes when I get there thank you again

Will P, Vermillion, SD September 12, 2017 4:44 pm
Overall Rating:
Pickup and Delivery
Customer Service
Communication
Movers

Was very happy with the whole process. Chipman Relocation services showed up when they said they would. Handled a difficult baby grand piano and household items.
Truck arrived ahead of schedule and driver (Steve) was very proffesional.
We would definately use them again.

Source: Yelp

Joseph M.. North Babylon, NY August 11, 2017 7:05 pm
Overall Rating:
Pickup and Delivery
Customer Service
Communication
Movers

Like all moving companies, this one is yet another unpleasant one.
– The quote: of course was easy and also it was very accurate, hence the two starts. It was timely and covered most of the details. Did not cover the unpacking details, that was a big surprise.

– Pre-packing: This is when things started becoming dicey. There were no records of me when I called to verify. This was terrifying. Had to go through multiple hoops for them to even find me. With all the stress of packing and deadlines, the last thing you need a week before your travel is for the moving company to constantly state that they are not aware of your move
– The packing: Overall painless, It was done over two days, however it was over a weekend. That is poor organization in my opinion, since now you will spend your weekend with an apartment full of boxes. However, the workers were professional and labeled every thing very carefully.
– The transit: a night mare, no one had any clue where my shipment was. Had to go through three difference call centers to even find it, just to inform me that they have no clue. I was the one that informed the main company where my shipment was, once I located the driver myself. It is a terrible feeling not having any clue where your life belongings are.

– The unpacking: Their idea of unpacking is : flip the box with all you belongings upside down and leave it in any room. We had 96 boxes, please imagine the massacre. The wife and I almost had a nervous breakdown. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS OPTION. It is useless.

– The aftermath: Of course somethings were damaged. The claim adjuster is as evil as them come and I will not be getting a penny for close to 2000 dollars worth of losses. My move cost 6800 dollars for a 570 square foot apartment and 96 boxes. Then add 2000 dollar for losses and 200 for tips and food for the workers. this is for 1600 mile trip.

The moving industry is overall plagued with similar or worse stories, I doubt that there are anything companies that are any better than this. But due to the monopolized nature of this industry, there are limited choices. Thus reviews like mine serve as a rant, more than a useful guide.

Erik M, Boulder, CO August 12, 2016 4:46 pm
Overall Rating:
Pickup and Delivery
Customer Service
Communication
Movers

I used Mayflower’s “Storage and Move/SAM” container service (like Pods) to move from Houston, Texas to Boulder, Colorado. Every step of the process was handled impeccably. From the set up via their national customer service number to the coordination with truckers and warehouse, these folks are well organized, confirm commitments and execute on time. It really was a very pleasant surprise and they even made up for some lapses on my part. Finally their containers are high quality with smooth inner walls and tie down hooks. They are metal with transparent tops, and they did get hot during my summer move. Can’t say enough good things about my experience with them.

Source: Yelp

Nasim K, Wixom, MI August 18, 2015 4:48 pm
Overall Rating:
Pickup and Delivery
Customer Service
Communication
Movers

We just moved from Michigan to Southern California, (August 1th) with Mayflower’s help. It was the best move experience we had so far and we have been moving around a lot! The crew was very professional, respectful to our home and on time. The sale representative Chuck Jerore visited our home in Novi to estimate the cost and how many containers we need. He gave me so many great tips to lower the cost. He is friendly, honest and very professional. Gina T. was our move- responsible person. She provided us boxes and all packing materials, since I asked to pack boxes myself. She is very friendly, and professional. The whole time, she tried to schedule everything on time with the different time zones and always was in communication with us in order to inform us with the new updates and other info. The loading and delivery crews in Novi and here in Irvine also did an amazing job. Kevin Howey, Jamal Fields and Tom Rindle helped us with loading in Novi. It was the most amazing thing ever to watch them be so careful with our furniture and boxes. The whole crew had a very positive, good mood which made our stressful day much better. Also, the delivery crew in Irvine: Paradise T., Ralph, Lee T., Jose was very quick and professional. Everything was delivered to the 4th floor and assembled without even a scratch. I am so glad we chose Mayflower to help us with the move and we are very grateful to the whole crew who helped us move our home!
Good job guys and keep up the good work!

Source: Yelp